Say Olori

…You know you want to

Repost or…!

comp attack 2

I have often come across a rather despicable trend in some of the forwarded messages that I get in my mails, on my facebook wall and instant messengers. The messages usually start with a compelling story of someone’s unfortunate situation or something with a religious appeal and then end with some rather obnoxious ‘request’ to repost or forward to others.

One of such was about a woman who received a miraculous healing from a divine visitation in her dream. Because of my faith and the stories that I have grown familiar with from the Bible, I do not think the story to be far-fetched. However, the whole thing was ruined for me when at the end, the writer threatened that something bad will happen to whoever fails or refuses to pass on the message. That had me screaming…’I beg your pardon’…!!!

Since when did reposting a message or failure to do so become the ultimate scale for measuring the strenght of my character or faith? Is that what makes me a good or bad person? I should think not.
Some messages, I will repost. Others, I will not repost. This might, but does not necessarily have a bearing on whether or not I feel a sympathetic concern for the sufferer in the story or share the religious beliefs being passed on, or that I do not even care about the story.

So many factors can inform my decision to repost or not. Hence, reposting does not necessarily make me religious or genuinely sympathetic, neither does failure or refusal to repost make me ‘heartless’ as one of such articles put it. For crying out loud, ‘liking’ a facebook page called ‘I am a Jesus freak’ does not mean you are definitely going to heaven. The journey towards eternal glory takes more than that.

I am totally against the emotional blackmail that messages like that inflict on their readers. I have had enough of messages that end with statements like ‘if u don’t repost, something bad will happen to you’ or ‘those of you who will not repost are heartless’.
It takes a really arrogant person to think that the best way for him or her to spread the gospel or get assistance from the reading public is to use such dishonourable threats and manipulative statements.

I have to say that some of those articles carry such a good message that I actually repost but not without deleting the offensive parts first. My thoughts- if it strikes the right cord in your heart, you will naturally honour my request that you share the post. I do not have to threaten people with bodily harm or call them names. #like, seriously#

Such statements are not only cheesy and unnecessary, they also give the story a bad after-taste. Enough!

9 comments on “Repost or…!

  1. Shola Olawumi
    December 7, 2012

    Dont mind them jare. The threats have even discouraged me from reading them. Before what I do is send it back to the sender,bt now I ignore them totally. Nice piece as usual.

  2. laolu7
    December 18, 2012

    it would have been dramatic to end your post with the same warnings you get in your emails, had no idea you wrote…nice…please visit or add my blog too…www.laolu7.wordpress.com..thanks

    • Olori
      December 18, 2012

      hehehe…that would have been very funny. Yep! I write. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Olori
    January 16, 2013

    You’re appreciated.

  4. Olori
    January 16, 2013

    It’s pretty easy.Visit the themes page and select a theme that best appeals to you.Mine is called suburbia.Also activate some widgets. Widgets like ‘archives’, ‘follow blog’, ‘search’, ‘recent posts’ and ‘categories’ are very useful. Then upload your best works. I hope that helps. Good luck!

  5. henryakyns
    April 24, 2013

    Reblogged this on HAP_SPEAKS.

  6. henryakyns
    April 24, 2013

    Accurately on point…

  7. Munwa
    April 30, 2013

    i concurr

Waiting to read your thoughts on this. xoxo

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2012 by in Society and tagged , , , , , .
