Say Olori

…You know you want to

For Giving Him Twins

Black couple with baby

I do find myself browsing through a couple of blogs during the day. I may not be a big fan of irritating celebrity gossip but I sure do find share-worthy news once in a while. Well, today, I stumbled on a thought provoking headline –“Actor Emeka Ossai buys wife brand new N5.5m car for giving him twins”.

Needless to say my thoughts were immensely provoked. I didn’t even read through the article but I went straight to the comment section in the hope that I would find like minds who shared in my dilemma. Thank goodness, I was anything but disappointed. I felt my thoughts re-echoed in comments of people who like me, were disturbed by the words “for giving him twins”. To make things worse, the article went on to report that “…the actor had waited for five years for a child but got a double dose in September 2012 when Jumai delivered a set of twins (Jude and Judith)”.

The whole thing seemed to suggest a ‘sci-fi’ style situation where the woman deliberately held back her womb from bearing children for a number of years and then in 2012, she magnanimously decided to exercise her prerogative in putting together a superb and unmatched creation of twins for her husband. “The actor waited” – like it was at his wife’s disposal and she held it back from him.

She was waiting too!

We go around wondering why women (especially in Africa) are tormented and made to feel like freaks and outcasts just because they are yet to ‘give’ their husbands children (or sons) but the reason isn’t far-fetched at all. This is where it all starts from- the belief that it is the woman’s sole responsibility to make sure that her womb is full of children and that she pops them one after the other to her husband’s delight.

The world must soon come to a point where women are no longer seen as the creator of babies but as hopeful beneficiaries of God’s gift of pregnancy and childbirth.The glory of the creation of a child and a successful birth should go to God only.

Thus, a woman’s decision to make a baby with her husband and carry it to term is a labour of love and should be celebrated by her husband as such. It is a beautiful thing when a man celebrates his wife, partner and help-meet with whom he is a co-beneficiary of God’s gift of children. Anything that seems to suggest that a woman is being specially celebrated for ‘giving’ her husband twins is a slap in the face of women who are still waiting alongside their husbands for the fruit of the womb. Each couple receives from God and not from some awesome ability of the woman to give child. Such statements reek of a subtle attempt to make childless women feel inferior.

I want to believe that the way the story was presented is not a true representation of Mr. Ossai’s feelings so I celebrate him for his thoughtfulness and I rejoice with Mrs Ossai who gets a fancy new car to carry her babies in.

12 comments on “For Giving Him Twins

  1. Sharon
    May 21, 2013

    This is such a thoughtful piece to share. What ever we have was generously given by God. Let’s celebrate the act of love and not share in God’s glory.

  2. Munwa
    May 21, 2013

    Hmmmmm Sharon, i share your view. I also saw that story on that blog and i made a comment….a comment that came from the angered bottom of my heart. Well, the blog owner decided not to publish my comment. I was rather disappointed when WOMEN made comments like “this is a true husband, my husband needs to learn from this”. I was pained in my spirit. My heart was totally shattered when i read the part where the wife of the actor said “it’s true oooo, he bough the car for me because I gave him twins”. In my opinion, she has totally lost her self worth.It’s one thing for a man to shower his wife with good things afterall that’s his duty….but then to do it because she “gave” you children is totally heart breaking. Makes me wonder how she was treated before God blessed her with the fruit of the womb.

    • Olori
      May 21, 2013

      Oh my! I didn’t get to read her comments. That’s really unfortunate. It sure makes one wonder what her life was like before the babies came. *sigh*

  3. laoluadek
    May 22, 2013

    Waited indeed…lool at least this one celebrated his girls, some men are that backward even with the twins, i think its the blogger’s edit, soft sell craps

    • Olori
      May 24, 2013

      True talk. Soft sell tactics. *smh*

  4. Shola Olawumi
    May 24, 2013

    Journalist will always want attention,either gud or bad. Its always dia plan to publish captions like dis one to get plenty comments n it workd. Am nt justifyin how it was written bcos its totally wrong,bt hw many pple would av commented if it was written in a not-so-controversial manner. Nice work sharon…

    • Olori
      May 24, 2013

      You have a point there Shola. Mischievous folks.lol.

  5. Blessing
    May 27, 2013

    Well, children does come from God alone. I believe he is estactic about his children and that is ok. About his wife ‘giving him twins’, its just the same way we say ‘we got an A in a course when we were in school’. Bottomline, we understand the message- God has blessed them with twins. From me, enjoy!!!

    • Olori
      May 27, 2013

      🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  6. naijahusband
    July 17, 2013

    It might have been his acknowledgment that she had a rough labor to bring twins into the world. So maybe that was his way of showing his gratitude…but in Nigeria, our english can’t express itself well to say what we really mean at times. On another note, you point out that “The world must soon come to a point where women are no longer seen as the creator of babies but as hopeful beneficiaries of God’s gift of pregnancy and childbirth.The glory of the creation of a child and a successful birth should go to God only.” I agree with you whole heartedly. But here’s another issue that that brings up. If women (and men) did not create the life, and are simply beneficiaries of a gift from God… do they have the right to kill it?

    • Olori
      July 18, 2013

      Controversy! LoL. I will resist the urge to give a round opinion on the subject but I do strongly believe that God does not support intentional termination of pregnancies.

Waiting to read your thoughts on this. xoxo

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2013 by in Society and tagged , , , .
